Mustang and Ford Performance Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Premium Member
5,466 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im fairly new to the cobra deal. Just got my car last week and I already have the modding bug. I have read a couple of posts on people who get by with no chip on a 2.93 or 2.8 pulley but no big details.

I know its a good idea to have a chip tuned for your combo, but im just looking for something small to get me going and tide me over until I get the chip. I see posts where the stock tune is pretty rich anyway..so with the xtra boost wouldnt this equal out to a certain degree??

Thanks

·
Registered
82 Posts
Allan,
You don't know me, but I was checking in on the Akmotorsports site quite often, but wonered what happened to it? And what happened to your Z28? I've been thinking about getting an '03 Cobra myself, but there aren't any up here in squarebanks yet.
Anyway if the Akmotorsports sight is up at a different address could you please give me the link.
Brad

·
Registered
67 Posts
I live in denver (high altitude) and a buddy of mine claims that his was pretty lean after a couple mods and NO chip. I would be a little cautious and do a dyno run, get an air fuel reading and just see where your A/F is at. I know you have the bug but what is a couple weeks of waiting to save up for a chip to match that extra boost. Seems worth it in my mind. Good luck, Andrew!

·
Premium Member
5,466 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 · (Edited)
The Z-28 is a long story, just wanted an 03 so I made the change.

www.alaskamotorsports.com is the new link. we used to have the akdsm link redirect but we nixed that.

I know I shouldnt be cutting corners with a pulley and no chip, just havent seen many dyno slips and a/f slips to prove the theory. Is there anyway you can get some more info for me? How lean and where at in the powerband.