Mustang and Ford Performance Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First hello to all my new freinds in the blue oval world... I am new to ford and am taking on my first build. I am knee deep into building a rear engine dragster using a 2V 5.4L mod motor. Parts that I have are the long block (all forged rortating parts, and ported heads). I also have a wipple 3.4L SC. Now comes the difficult part!! This is drag race only...on alcohol..What is the best aftermarket ECU, is there such a thing as 12 rib pulleys, how good are new ford replacment coils (that I have). Then do need a intercooler? I have purchased 3 shop type manuals but none are complete, is there printed info out there to cover this type of challenge?

·
Registered
273 Posts
I would suggest using a big stuff 3 but your going to need to run something like ls1 coils to do this correctly but it has the best all around software in my opinion and most who use it will agree.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I agree with bigstuff, I've researched fast also but I'm asking alot from this ECU unit. Do you have any input on 12 rib pulley set ups

·
Registered
4,428 Posts
I agree with bigstuff, I've researched fast also but I'm asking alot from this ECU unit. Do you have any input on 12 rib pulley set ups
I would run the Lightning lower intake without the stock A/W intercooler in it (if your not already)! The alcohol should go along way towards keeping temps entering the combustion chamber in check as well as any detonation! If temps or detonation seem to be an issue, you an always add the A/W intercooler in the intake later. At least you could forgo the expense up front until you see if it's even needed!
As far as 12 rib, there is nothing on the market as of now, and the 10 rib is no longer made either! If it were me, and this ws a "drag race only" as you have stated, I would run a cog pulley set-up to turn the blower and be done with it!