Mustang and Ford Performance Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
104 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was just wondering if anyone has any confirmed dyno results on how much power yanking the air silencer and putting in a k&n is worth. otherwise totally stock. Thanks

·
Registered
104 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Actually I have a subsciption to mm&ff :shootbird however I don't really believe everything they print and was looking for real world gains from real people, also I just picked up my cobra last week so I am not really up to speed on the whole thing. Also I was wondering if anyone had checked a gain on removing the maf screen. Anyone who has helpful info please respond.

·
Registered
1,818 Posts
mustang500hp said:
Actually I have a subsciption to mm&ff :shootbird however I don't really believe everything they print and was looking for real world gains from real people, also I just picked up my cobra last week so I am not really up to speed on the whole thing. Also I was wondering if anyone had checked a gain on removing the maf screen. Anyone who has helpful info please respond.
I hope your Fu "smilie" was posted in fun...
Jamie writes for 5.0 magazine and personally did the CAI testing with a bunch of fellow '03 owners.

I will say he had some interesting results...

I forget the HP gain of the K&N over the paper element, but on the day Jaime tested, removing the silencer... blasephemy here.... lost HP!!!!

My car dyno'd 383 with a drop in K&N and the silencer cut off even with the inner fender border. It also lost .3 and 3 mph trap speed switching from that configuration to an 9 inch open cone ( which in a different issue of 5.0 magazine, Paul from Paul's High Performance said was worth 30 hp....)

JT

·
Registered
19 Posts
mustang500hp said:
I was just wondering if anyone has any confirmed dyno results on how much power yanking the air silencer and putting in a k&n is worth. otherwise totally stock. Thanks