Mustang and Ford Performance Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
352 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im going to have the rear end rebuilt here soon but i dont think it will survive another 6 months of racing without wearing out again. Was wondering if anyone has done a 9 inch swap yet? Just wondering what you did to get the driveshaft to mount up and the brakes. Thanks.

·
Registered
375 Posts
I really don't think it has been done yet. Why don't you be the first! A 9" would be cool. Maybe you got a crappy rear from the factory. I think Eaton has a posi carrier for our rears if I am not mistaken. I have been racing for a yr and 10 months. No problems yet with the rear! Hey check out the other post and answer my question please. :) -Mat-

·
Registered
467 Posts
I think Sal used the Eaton carrier for a bit then went back to the stocker.

I think even a 9" would be lighter than the stock rearend, but I am not sure I would give the stock rearend up. Thats one of the few things I havent heard of breaking very much on the truck.

·
Registered
352 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Its not a matter of breaking Frank. The problem is gear options and most importantly, SFI rated axles and durability. My truck see's the track weekly. Sometimes 2X a week.

I bet a 3.90 ratio gear would be the perfect gear for these trucks. We dont have that option like the 8.8 and 9.0 guys do.

I notice a lot of peg legged Lightings at the track, so there is wear happening. I think its mostly coming from the burnout box with the brakes applied that's killing these rear ends. Maybe the linelock is the cure, but i dont know.

·
Registered
1,110 Posts
didn't rem put a 9 inch in their race truck they were building?

·
Registered
924 Posts