Mustang and Ford Performance Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
179 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok guys Im new to the thread but post all the time on the corral and dfwstangs.

I am in a bind lately as my cobra is eating valve springs.
I have Crane regrinds 217- .474
Modmax valve spring kit.
Ferra stainless undercut valves
Ported too big heads, Ross flat tops.

I am using the lash caps but seem to not have the proper set up to keep the springs in one piece.

Any help is appreaciated.

Also I am interested in billet cams, but called around and couldnt find any avail.

Thanks.

·
Registered
204 Posts
TTT this is a damn good question. Any of you mod motor gurus have answers?

·
Registered
207 Posts
360 Notch said:
Ok guys Im new to the thread but post all the time on the corral and dfwstangs.

I am in a bind lately as my cobra is eating valve springs.
I have Crane regrinds 217- .474
Modmax valve spring kit.
Ferra stainless undercut valves
Ported too big heads, Ross flat tops.

I am using the lash caps but seem to not have the proper set up to keep the springs in one piece.

Any help is appreaciated.

Also I am interested in billet cams, but called around and couldnt find any avail.

Thanks.
How are you setting up the lash caps?? Are you using the small "washer" type pieces underneath each of the lash adjusters??? The idea of a reground cam, is that they take material off the "base" circle, altering the geometry of the stock valvetrain...Since the "lobes" are reground and smaller, you need to make up for that lost material somehow and thats what the "washers" or caps are used for...They return the geometry back to stock....Its possible the springs are breaking due to the way you have the caps setup....

·
Registered
69 Posts