Mustang and Ford Performance Forums banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I want to know how much of a demand is there for an aftermarket intake for the 2 valve and the 4 valve mod motors and what features, qualities, ect. you would want out of this intake. Reason asking is because I am doing a market study for a possible business venture. I know eactly what intakes are available (slim to none) and there prices. What if there were and intake for street applications that would require no modifications to bolt on and one for strictly race that were priced under the current competition that gave similiar if not better results! I am a Product Development Engineer that has been thinking about this idea for a couple of years now starting when I had my 99GT. I have the money, knowledge and the right people behind me to do this. Please give me your opinions on this topic and any suggestions that you might have. Thanks!

Clint

·
Registered
182 Posts
There will be a demand, and how great it is depends on price and how good it is. On the flip side, I don't know if I would start a business based on one product for one or two applications only.

Just my $.02.

·
Registered
39 Posts
if its around lets say ---500 count me in! :)

well if ya want, when you get it made ill test it for ya.

·
Registered
511 Posts
Build an intake that allows using a Eaton/KB/Works style blower on top of a DOHC 5.4 and you will sell plenty.

·
Registered
131 Posts
you should make one that produces 100 rwhp....... you asked what i wanted.

·
Registered
28 Posts
Hmmmm....... what do I want in an intake?????

something that produces power off idle to 6250 rpm with no loss of torque and a gain in power over the stock piece.

Make it a modular composite piece; so that the manifold could be isolated from direct transfer of heat

Design it along the stock architecture so a minimum of parts swapping would go on

Design it so 2V or 4V throttle bodies could be used.