Mustang and Ford Performance Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1,818 Posts
It is the same thing I've been posting, nice to have some confirmation. I do dissagree to some of what was said, but the general gist is right.

From the KB thread

"Ok, I have a theory. As some of you may know, I am an electrical engineer that works primarily as a mechanical engineer in hydraulics and pneumatics. Working with hydraulics and pneumatics, I am very familiar with pumps and their characteristics. Both the Eaton and the KB are air pumps. The KB is may be better characterized a compressor. Both are commonly referred to as "positive displacement".

A positive displacement , or fixed displacement pump, pumps a given volume based on it's speed and inlet conditions. The outlet pressure has a very small effect on the volume of whatever a particular fixed displacement pump is pumping, be it air, hydraulic fluid, etc. The pumps that I am most familiar with, that are similar in design to the Eaton and KB, typically have a volumetric efficiency change of a few percent when going from low pressure, say 100 psi to high pressure, like 3000 psi.

Now the blowers we are talking about, especially the eaton appear to me to be definatly more "leaky". Especially the Eaton with the roots design being prone to reversion. By that I mean, a few psi of outlet pressure should make at least some change in volumetric efficiency. So headers, I would guess, in theory should make some difference, since they should unplug the oulet of the engine, which I would think would lower the pressure at the inlet for a given flow. Why this doesn't seem to show up as significant power, I don't know.

The KB, is a screw compressor. The screw compressors I am familiar with used in drilling and mining applications, are happy to run at, and are very efficient up to 300-500 PSI. This leads me to believe that the KB volumetric efficiency doesn't change much over the range of a couple of psi.