Mustang and Ford Performance Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
215 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm in the procees of rebuilding my engine and am considering a Meziere electric water pump. I'm aware of the benifits just looking for some input on how reliable they are. I plan to drive the car around 7-10k a year along with a few long raod trips. I'm just concerned about it failing and me not catching it until it's too late. Has anyone seen any pump failures?

On a side note I'm a BMW master tech and we have been using electric water pumps on all our new 6 cyl engines since 2004. We have seen preety much zero failures. But the are controled in a completely different way and do not run wide open all the time.

Thanks
Dan

·
Registered
3,131 Posts
I know a few guys around here run them and have had no problems at all. I used to run a CSI on my foxbody car and also never had any problems. I'll eventually be putting one on this car as well. Anything can happen though, just have to keep a watch on the temp gauge.

·
Registered
1,990 Posts
They advertise a 3000 hour lifespan I think?. However, im sure they may last longer.

·
Administrator
1965 SPF 427 Cobra, & 2022 BMW M850
9,484 Posts
I'm in the procees of rebuilding my engine and am considering a Meziere electric water pump. I'm aware of the benifits just looking for some input on how reliable they are. I plan to drive the car around 7-10k a year along with a few long raod trips. I'm just concerned about it failing and me not catching it until it's too late. Has anyone seen any pump failures?

On a side note I'm a BMW master tech and we have been using electric water pumps on all our new 6 cyl engines since 2004. We have seen preety much zero failures. But the are controled in a completely different way and do not run wide open all the time.

Thanks
Dan
Dan,