Mustang and Ford Performance Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Facebook has made discussion forums a dying breed, which is unfortunate given the apathetic developers at FB haven't made a quality system for indexing and searching tech posts. It's been a while since I've signed up for one, but rather than seeing "what do i need to swap my v6 to a v8 is it hard hmu bro" posts, I'm hoping for a bit better insight from the personalities here as I've stocked up on a lot of information from this group (I think eschaider can build a 4.6 using just his teeth). I have plently of pleb questions, as I have never built an engine before.

First off, here is the car. An 03 that started it's life with an automatic and a V6. Currently has a 99 Cobra motor, a T56, built 8.8, bodykit off a wrecked Saleen.

IMG_5896.jpg

My garage is pretty crap, so here is my 'workbench'.

IMG_3487.jpg

I purchased the swap component for an 03 Cobra, and also bought the sum parts of someone else's abandoned 4.6 build. The items I have are:

IMG_6113.jpg

Shortblock:
WAP aluminum block, bored .020 over
Manley platinum series pistons, 18cc dish
Manley H beam rods
Forged 4.6 crank, unknown original application
Clevite bearings
Total Seal piston rings
Ford Performance 4V oil pump with Boundary billet gears
Canton windage tray
MMR oil pan
ARP rod bolts/crank bolt/main studs/sidebolts

IMG_2444.jpg

Heads:
1 DB and 1 DC casting heads from a Lincoln Aviator (never been so dehydrated pulling these in my life)
MMR bronze guides/valve seals
Replacement Ford lifters and rockers
96-98 Cobra camshafts
ARP head studs
Felpro head gaskets

IMG_3498.jpg

For my first questions off the bat, which Facebook did a crap job of answering:

1) Dumb question, but on the rear main seal, it has a lip about 1/3 of the way around the side. Do I knock the seal in to the depth of the lip, or is it supposed to sit flush with the retaining plate?