Mustang and Ford Performance Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just bought a '00 L a couple months ago and have a 4 psi pulley kit on the way. They (RPM Outlet.com) said it was ok to run on the factory program, but I thought I'd try to get other peoples' input as well. Is 12 psi of boost safe to run without a chip? This will be the only modification for now other than an open K&N. Thanks, Jim.

·
Registered
34 Posts
I am no expert but I ran a 4lb pulley for 4 months with out a chip. I have a chip but removed it due to detenation. Detenation sound like your shaking up a paint can. The stock computer worked fine I just upped my octane to 94 pump gas and added a tube of octane booster. the pensoil kind.

Suavy

·
Registered
418 Posts
thumptruck said:
I just bought a '00 L a couple months ago and have a 4 psi pulley kit on the way. They (RPM Outlet.com) said it was ok to run on the factory program, but I thought I'd try to get other peoples' input as well. Is 12 psi of boost safe to run without a chip? This will be the only modification for now other than an open K&N. Thanks, Jim.
thumptruck, anytime you run 2 lbs. more boost on a stock lightning engine, you stand to experience , not only Knock Retard, but it can hinder the performance at wide open throttle. A good rule of thumb here is if you are running a 2 lb. pulley, you might want to regap the sparkplugs from the stock .042 to .045 factory setting, down to .040 for safety measures against having any premature problems.

If you are going to install a 4 lb. Lower Crank Pulley, then you must go to One Range Colder Sparkplug and gap the plugs at .040 , plus also have someone make you a Performance Chip , to not only enhance the performance, but to also assure you of getting the proper Air/Fuel Mixture on remapping the Fuel Curve of your PCM, for Ultimate Performance at wide open throttle.