Mustang and Ford Performance Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2,769 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Today was one of those days that reminds one why they devote as much time, energy, blood, sweat, and money into these money pits AKA a race car.

I've been chasing that 8 second time slips since Oct 2001 when I went [email protected] with my old Novi 2000/C4, 8 rib, stock intake setup.

In 2002 I upgraded to the Procharger F2M, Cog drive, Hogan intake and Electromotive. What I ended up with was 5 passes in the car which ended up to be a year of total inactivity and frustration.

This year I made some very important decisions that turned out really good. The first one was throwing the Electromotive in the river and going back to my old true friend FAST AKA Speedpro.

A major obstacle was overcame when Lideo was able to get the FAST to go over 8000 rpms with EDIS ignition. Lideo and FAST was able to get around the MSD Dis4 redesign issues and the car can pull higher than I will ever need.

The converter, rear gear, and transmission still was mismatched. 2 weeks before the shootout I snapped a cog belt that took out power to the electric water pump. This resulted in overheated heads that caused the Copper gaskets to stop sealing.

A quick trip up to SHM fixed the head gaskets and I decided to let Marty at Neal Chance converters to redesign the converter. I then let my old friends at Dynamic go thru the power glide. To my surprise I had a lot of issues inside the power glide. To make a long story short I had to replace the planetary which gave me a good excuse to replace the horrible 1.76 first gear. Harold slapped a 1.89 gear set in and everything went back to SHM for reassembly.

Today was the first outting with the car. I ran Ben Dorns smackdown and it turned out to be the best day I've had in 2 years.

First pass went [email protected]
2nd pass went [email protected]
3rd pass went [email protected]
4th pass no traction bust run