Mustang and Ford Performance Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Yes...it can be done
3,140 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alrighty!! My longtubes have arrived today that I ordered on 1/6/03. Thanks to Jeremy at JDM for following up with my order. If you're here Jeremy, I'm the wiseguy who tried selling you my slightly used Magnaflow catted x-pipe. :D

Anyway, the car goes up on the lift this weekend. I WILL BE TAKING EXTENSIVE DIGITAL PICTURES OF THE INSTALL!! I'm bringing my laptop to dump the 32Mb card if it fills up. I'm a mechanical novice, so I'll be taking my time.

Tuning for the longtubes will be performed by Apten-US. I will be posting before and after dyno sheets to directly compare the stock shorties to the Kooks.

·
Registered
521 Posts
All I can say is good luck. I will never try that install again. I'll just suck it up and pay for it......Good luck....

·
Registered
85 Posts
I'll be doing it again but I'm going to drop the k-frame next time. 03Steve is using a lift so it should be somewhat easier than doing it on the floor like I did. Still, as 03snake says, good luck to ya!

·
Registered
1,818 Posts
Where in Lancaster are you guys? I'm out there often, I'd like to see part or all of te install. I know how to turn a wrench too if needed... I think.

JT

·
Registered
2,573 Posts
cobrabruce said:
I'll be doing it again but I'm going to drop the k-frame next time. 03Steve is using a lift so it should be somewhat easier than doing it on the floor like I did. Still, as 03snake says, good luck to ya!
After installing JBA shorties on my Bullitt, I swore that I'd never do headers again without dropping the K-member.

Well, I broke that promise when installing the JDM LTs and I'm glad I did. The install was not that bad. First time with the JBAs it took about 16 hours. This time it only took 7hrs and I was doing other stuff at the same time (lower pulley).

MJ

·
Yes...it can be done
3,140 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·