Mustang and Ford Performance Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

· Registered
643 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a decent welder, and wouldn't mind welding the tubes to the center section of my 8.8. Some people advise not to do it without a jig, while others claim to have cuccess without the use of a jig.

Would the jig be used to get the axle tubes straight prior to welding, or to KEEP it straight while applying the heat from welding?

Looking on other forums, people generally apply heat to the center section as it's thicker, prior to welding and divide each tube's circumference into six equal parts, then laying down a weld on every other section until you've gone all the way around, then do the same for the 3 remaining sections, with no cooling. Some even advise to torch the area afterwards to control the cooling to a slow, slow pace.

This sounds pretty easy with good metal prep and a bit of patience, anybody here use the DO-IT-YOURSELF approach? And if so, will this method work for me.

By the way, I've never once heard of a tube spinning in the housing, but I haven't looked real hard either, I just hope this isn't a huge waste of my time.

· Registered
1,689 Posts
Having it in a jig it always best, not all housings are straight even before welding. Welding the tubes to the housing helps them from deflecting and eventually bending during hard launches, an axle brace is a good idea too. I have a CHE axle brace and its a bolt on deal.

· Registered
643 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks, I did not know there was a "bolt on" solution to this.

· Registered
1,689 Posts
Thanks, I did not know there was a "bolt on" solution to this.
There are several axle brace options some bolt, some require welding mounting tabs, i have a bolt on brace as well as welded tubes. Over build it from the get go and you will save hassle down the road.

· Administrator
9,833 Posts
The axle brace and the tubes spinning in the housing are two different phenomena.