Mustang and Ford Performance Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
255 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alright, I am def. not new to mustangs by any means. But I was always used to the fox bodies and just getting the correctly calibarted MAF for the injectors you are running. My previous 00 GT was just mild bolt ons and I didnt need a tune or anything. Now with my current 01 GT with the vortech and all the other goodies, I am still learning. The car has been tuned before and I have the dyno sheet etc. I am taking the car in the next month to have it "gone" over and re-tuned if needed just to assure everything is ok. I bought the car with everything done to it, so I wanna see first hand that things are ok. How do tuners tune these cars. If it matters, I am going to SGS Automotive in Dover, PA and having Dave Guy tune the car. I assume they have the software and just plug into the cars stock computer? Is there where they make the adjustments for timing, fuel curve, etc etc? I mean I know about the handheld tuners, but when a tuner will tune the car, is it just done through the stock computer or how does it work? Just something I never really read about or learned. I know plenty about boosted cars , just never really read much into the tuning since I didnt have one haha. Now I do, I want to know the ins and outs. The car was previously tuned at Crazy Horse Racing in NJ. I know the car has a Pro-M mass air meter and RC Injectors that spec out to about 37 lbs. Thanks for the info everyone!

·
Registered
374 Posts
Ive heard nothing but good about SGS and Dave Guy. I actually will be taking mine up there from the VA area to have him tune mine once i break in the new engine.
When they tune they use a hand held unit. They just reflash or reprogram the ECU with the new data. There are charts graphs, barsliders and several other ways different software inputs the new tune. Its kinda like editing a paper for school on the computer and then resaving over the old one.

·