Mustang and Ford Performance Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am setting up my rear end gears. I have the mechanical knowledge as far as understanding how and what needs to be done. Where my knowledge lacks is determining if a gear pattern is acceptable or not . I just haven't done very many of them. I did some research online looking at pictures and so forth but I'm undecided as far as the pattern I currently landed at. I was wondering if anyone might have any input on the gear pattern I currently have. These are new gears and new bearings with .028" pinion shim as well as .009" backlash. I have attached a pictures

Mike. .

Attachments

·
Registered
402 Posts
i am no expert and have never done it (although some day i wish to) so i don't want to say 100% for sure, but from my understanding of it that looks pretty damn good! the wear pattern looks pretty much centered. if anything it looks slightly closer to the heel than the toe.

but aren't you showing both pics of the convex (drive) side? don't you also have to be looking at the coast side?

and kudos on doing this yourself, best of luck with it

·
Administrator
9,775 Posts
Reading the wear pattern to determine ring and pinion placement for proper operation is something an experienced technician can do with relatively high success. However, the Master Housing Depth (MHD) method is much preferred for the rest of us mere mortals. If you do the wear pattern setup and miss it, the ring and pinion will howl. Once the howling begins, you deform the tooth profiles on the two gears, and they can never be assembled again to run quietly. The set up to achieve a correct pattern will vary depending on whether the gears were hobbed or milled.

In Dana Corporation speak you can visually determine this by following their guidance below;

Font Rectangle Circle Number Paper