Mustang and Ford Performance Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have signed up to do an open track/road course event in a couple of weeks and want to see how the Cobra will handle such an event.

I was wondering if anyone else had run their Cobra at a similar event and how it went?

Also, if anyone has any suggestions on how to best prepare the car for a road racing event, I would appreciate hearing your ideas/suggestions.

Thanks
Brett

·
Registered
9 Posts
I've also signed up for roadcourse racing in the '03 Cobra. Any tips shared would be much appreciated. (I've never tried roadcourse racing before!)

Thanks in advance,
:confused:

·
Registered
34 Posts
I did the SVTOA event here in Indy. 2.5 mile 15 turn road course. 130 straightaway speeds. GREAT TIME! My suggestions:

1. start out slow and build up your confidence and control.
2. Start with TC on the first time out.
3. Turn off TC and remeber this thing can be steered with the Throttle.
4. LISTEN to the instructors. I had good ones, and their advice was very helpful.
5. Gradual motions. Smooth is fast. It is not sprint car school.
6. Check your tire pressure. Be comfortable, wear as much safety gear as you can. (helmet obviously)
7. Have fun.

Our first Day was in Rain so we had to be smooth. One guy in a Lightning did a tank slapper and gave his rear qtr panel a stripe.
The next day a vert like mine dropped two tires off a high speed corner, over corrected and kissed the wall. YIKES> Still had the paper plate on it. I had a blast. What did i have to show at the end. A BIG SMILE, more confidence, more love and appreciaton for this car. AND REALLY dirty wheels. They looked black.

HAVE A GREAT TIME

·
Registered
38 Posts
1) Use 32 psi
2) Make sure your brake fluid is fresh - if in doubt, bleed it.
3) Do all your braking before you enter a turn
4) Clip your apexes cleanly
5) Get on the throttle early out of turns, but not enough to break the tail loose