Mustang and Ford Performance Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
132 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I went to the local track today and I was having trouble shifting. I have had this problem before but now it is a lot worse. I was able to run 12.2 at best and a 13.0 :eek: at worst. The problem started a while back and seems to be getting much worse each time at the track. I have a feeling the tranny can't take the 403 ft/lbs the car is putting out. So what can I do? Should I get a T-56, TKO, TKO2, or try something else? I am a pretty good driver and usual shift well, so I asked my friend if I could take his car down the track to make sure it wasn't just me. He has a blown 99 GT with a T-56 tranny and it shifted beautifully. So what do you recommend? I plan on adding a little more power soon, some where around 500 RWHP and maybe 450-475 RWTQ. Would any of these trannies hold up to the task? Is going to an automatic my only reasonable choice? I can't spend tons of money on a Liberty so what can I do?

Thanks,
Derrick

·
Registered
43 Posts
It all depends on what your goals are. If you want a very fast street car with mid to low 11 sec capabilities, than a TKO or TKO 2 would be your best bet. For the amount of money a T-56 costs, you could probably have a good automatic built, and also have the abilities to run mid 10's consistently.

·
Registered
132 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
frdfandc said:
It all depends on what your goals are. If you want a very fast street car with mid to low 11 sec capabilities, than a TKO or TKO 2 would be your best bet. For the amount of money a T-56 costs, you could probably have a good automatic built, and also have the abilities to run mid 10's consistently.