Mustang and Ford Performance Forums banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
325 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Monday I'm installing a 4r70w and need to get a tranny cooler very soon. Being a daily driver I would definately want one with a fan.

·
Registered
412 Posts
I run one out of a powerstroke with no fan and the only time mine has ever got over 180 is when doing back to back runs at the track using the trans brake.

I have no fan on mine but it is in front of the radiator.

·
Registered
325 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Yeah I called tommie vaughn earlier today and it would cost me $300. I suppose I'll get the b&m, just trying to find a good price.

·
Registered
412 Posts
I found mine off a ford trucks forum for 125 new

·
Registered
325 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Well hell, since its only your twin guys, are you guys running scavenger pumps? My turbos are mounted where my fog lights use to be. I tried several things to not have to get a pump but didn't have any luck.

I ended up buying one from Fastlane in houston for $200. It worked great but ended up leaking after a short while. It had a plastic "head" on it and developed a crack. Tried fixing it with no luck. I went back to them and they had discontinued using them and instead went to a pump designed for turbo apps. It looked like a great piece and was pretty small but at $350 I figured I'd try to repair my original.

Finally I ran into a guy I hadn't seen in a yr or two, Eric Stubbs. He told me he was using a cheap ass pump from Harbor Freight that cost only $50. Said he runs them on all his race cars. He said he's had no issues with them but if he does he'll just go buy another.

And lasty, are you guys running and catch can system off of your valve covers? My car will smoke when I run it hard and thought it might be time to install a setup. I bought the MMR one but haven't installed it yet. Its designed to run off of one valve cover but would it be any better if I t-ed the two together?

·